top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayla Swanson

Why You Should be a Tourist in Your City?

Over the past few days, my friends and I were supposed to take a trip to the beach, but you know how September weather is. So instead, we decided to do a staycation in the city. Over the weekend, we partook in everything a tourist would do in New Orleans. Here's an Itinerary of our adventures.


MUSEUMS

Our weekend started with a visit to the Southern Food and Beverage museum, Ashe Cultural Arts Center, WWII museum, and the Ogden Museum of Southern Art. Living in New Orleans, it's easy to forget the beauty of our city and the culture that makes us one of the most popular cities in the world. So visiting these museums made me excited about New Orleans again. 

📷


FOOD

My favorite place to eat is Superior Grill, so of course I suggested we go there! They serve great Mexican food and their salads are awesome. The next night my friends and I ate at Little Tokyo (we were in the mood for sushi) and had to participate in the karaoke night! 

P.S. Mariah Carey has nothing on us!

📷


HOTEL

The best part about booking a room the night before is the CHEAP prices. We stayed at the Embassy Suites, a 4 star hotel. We had a balcony, complimentary breakfast and happy hour for only $99/night. A simple visit to Hotels.com allowed me to discover great rates all over the city. Definitely going to make this a common thing.

📷


DOWNTOWN

Now we couldn't be successful tourists if we didn't take a walk in Downtown New Orleans. This was right before the pouring rain, of course. I can't put the magic of the city into words. Just seeing the historical architecture, elaborate hotels, and street performers play their instruments like they're giving a concert gave me chills. 

📷


ART

To top off our magical weekend, my friends and I went to Painting with a Twist where we added our own painting style to a canvas prepped with a template already drawn out. It was fun seeing everyone's unique creations!

📷

The last 3 days in New Orleans have been amazing and I'll definitely be doing this again soon. There's so much more to see in our city. 3 days can't possibly justify it.

Taking time for your physical, mental, and emotional health is priceless. 

Don't forget to Treat Ya' Self!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page